Catalog » Current Catalog » Programs

View Print/PDF

Human Services: Family Services Worker 1

Award Type: Certificate of Accomplishment

These three certificates provide the knowledge and skills necessary for entry level employment and career advancement in the Community Action Commission (CAC) of Santa Barbara County's Family Services Aide position. In addition, the courses can be applied to other degrees or certificates in Human Services and Early Childhood Studies. The certificates include Family Services Worker 1, Family Services Worker 2 and Family Services Worker 3.

The graduate of the Certificate of Accomplishment in Human Services: Family Services Worker 1 will:

  • Possess knowledge and skills that will enable them to competently and ethically carry out the duties and responsibilities of jobs in the Community Action Commission, a Santa Barbara County nonprofit social service agency. The knowledge and skills that they will possess fall under the following three rubrics: (1) Interpersonal Helping Skills; (2) Ethics and Boundaries; and (3) Documentation.
  • Interpersonal Helping Skills: Graduates will possess interpersonal skills required to engage empathically with clients, develop safe and trusting relationships with them, assess their strengths and problems and recommend appropriate interventions and/or referrals. They will demonstrate the ability to manifest the core conditions of helping relationships, including empathy, nonpossessive warmth, genuineness, and congruence. They will recognize the importance of the family and societal contexts in which their clients live and utilize this information in providing helping services.
  • Ethics and Boundaries: Graduates will be familiar with a professional association’s code of ethics and demonstrate the ability to behave in accord with it. They will be able to define appropriate professional relationship boundaries and detect when these boundaries are crossed or violated. They will be able to maintain client confidentiality and know the conditions under which confidentiality must be broached. They will demonstrate an understanding of the principles of culturally competent practice.
  • Documentation: Graduates will demonstrate the ability to create and maintain appropriate client documentation, including intake notes, service or treatment plans, progress notes, discharge notes and other documentation such as informed consent and release of information forms.

Program Requirements

A total of 15 units are required for the certificate.

Required core courses (15 units):

Course Number Course Title Units
ECS 100 Child Growth and Development 3.0
ECS 101 Child, Family and Community 3.0
FCS 131 Life Management 3.0
HUSV 101 Introduction to Human Services: Becoming a Helping Professional 3.0
HUSV 102 Case Management Skills 3.0


Last Modified Mar 29, 2024